About Us Independent Alliance Meet the team Press releases Submissions policy Useful links
Press releases

Wednesday 21 May 2014

The Art of Being Normal: Lisa Williamson

David Fickling Books are delighted to announce the acquisition of two books from Lisa Williamson, including her debut novel, THE ART OF BEING NORMAL. UK and Commonwealth rights were bought from Catherine Clarke at Felicity Bryan Associates, after fierce interest from many British publishers.

David Fickling said of Lisa Williamson:

"Voices as assured and immediate as Lisa's are the reason we exist, and we can't wait to introduce her immense skills to the world in 2015."

Lisa commented:

"I chose DFB as they were the team that excited me the most! Adding in their reputation and experience means I'm thrilled and proud that THE ART OF BEING NORMAL is amongst their first crop of titles as an independent publisher. It feels like the start of a really special and collaborative adventure together."

THE ART OF BEING NORMAL is about many things: it's about identity, about being a teenager and about fitting (or not fitting) in. It is also one of the most downright readable books imaginable: and with the exploration of themes around sexuality and gender identity, will undoubtedly appeal to fans of Will Grayson. Will Grayson and Hilary Swank's Oscar-Winning Boys Don't Cry.

THE ART OF BEING NORMAL will be published in hardback by David Fickling Books in January 2015, priced £10.99

About the author

Lisa Williamson has been making up stories all her life, which led to a career as an actress. Whilst in-between roles and temping in an office, she started to write her ideas down once more, and hasn't looked back since. THE ART OF BEING NORMAL is wonderful evidence of this.